April 17

curvy

I always think of this street as one of the straightest and flattest streets in town. It’s on the route of nearly every road race held in town. Sometimes it feels like a relief to be on this street (because it’s flat and near the end of the race), but other times, it can be torture (because it’s long, exposed to the sun, at the end of the race).

I was surprised to discover that this street is not nearly as flat as I thought. There seem to be little micro-hills in it. Even where it’s relatively flat, the yellow lines seem to want to keep the curves going. And the shadows of the telephone lines are in on it, too. So the next time I’m slogging–I mean, jogging–I mean, running–along in a race, I will remind myself of these curves and maybe that will bring me some comfort.

 

Leave a Reply

