March 2

crystal

I wanted to catch the light diffraction that occurs when light passes through some of the angle of the crystal. I learned two things while attempting this. First flashlights and such don’t have enough spectrum to split so you have to have natural light. Second my lens and/or camera seem to put the diffracted rays back together and so the colors disappear. I proved this to myself by observing a prism we keep on a window ledge, noticing the color, raising my camera to my eye and watching the colors disappear.

Leave a Reply

